Futbol Club Barcelona, or FC Barcelona, is a professional futsal club in Barcelona, which is a part of the FC Barcelona sports group.

Originally, the club was formed in 1978 and the same year joined the Catalan Third Division. However, it was disbanded four years later in 1982, and it was not until 1986 when the club was re-founded and continues to play in the Primera Division to this day.


Name: Futbol Club Barcelona

Nickname: Blaugranas, Barça

Foundation Year: 1986

Ground: Palau Blaugrana, Barcelona, Spain

Capacity: 7,585

League: Primera Division, Futsal Champions League

Honours: Primera Division (4), Copa del Rey (7), Supercopa de Espana (2), Copa de Espana (5), UEFA Futsal Champions League (3)


Although the club was originally assembled in 1978, after its break up in 1982, it was officially re-founded in 1986. The club’s steps in its second life were equally positive to the early steps after the foundation when the club became the champions in their first two seasons in the top flight. In the 1987/88 campaign, FC Barcelona finished second in the Copa del Rey competition but managed to triumph the following season. A year later, Barça won its first major European trophy as they defeated AC Roma 3-1 in the final to clinch the European Futsal Cup Winners Cup.

In the following three seasons, FC Barcelona remained one of the leading teams in Spain and Europe, as they finished third in the 1990/91 and 1991/92 Primera Division seasons, as well as reached the semi-finals of the European Futsal Cup competition in 1993/94. However, the club’s results started to plummet the following years, mainly due to financial reasons, and the team went down to the Second Division in 1997/98.

Barça returned to the Spanish top flight in 1999/00 but were relegated again following a disastrous campaign in 2002/03. It was not until the 2005/06 season when the club was promoted to the top division of Spanish futsal again. The club was back to the Primera Division after beating Grupo Pinar Cordoba in the first round and defeating Barcelona Galdar FC in the play-offs.

After achieving promotion to the top flight, the club set out a strategy to take the team to the elite level. The president of the club, Joan Laporta, decided to increase the investment in the futsal part of the club, and as a result, the club began to attract the best international players, such as Javi Rodriguez. In its first season back in the Primera Division, Barça achieved its primary objective of staying in the top flight.

Over the next three seasons, the increased investment started to pay dividends as the club became one of the best in Spanish futsal. The 2010/11 season was marked as the best in the club’s history, with Barça winning all four trophies in a single season, including the League Title, the Spanish Cup, the Copa del Rey, and the Copa Catalunya. It marked the beginning of Barça’s domination as the club went on to win three more League Titles, three Spanish Cups, and four Copa del Reys in the following seasons. Additionally, the Catalan club also won the UEFA Futsal Cup twice in 2012 and 2014.

Current Team

The current team continues to play in four official competitions, including the Primera Division, the Copa del Rey, the Supercopa de Espana, and the Futsal Champions League.

The 17-member squad comprises the following players:

Are you a futsal enthusiast who also loves football? If so, you need to look no further and simply try our CeleBreak pick-up football service! We have an incredibly large football community in Barcelona, and thus, we would be delighted if you decide to join us for a friendly game.